Sunday, September 20

RM2.99 mln for devt at Lengan River area from 2016 to this year — Daro rep


Safiee (seventh left) and Ahmad Johnie (sixth left) jointly declare open the completed road upgrading project at Rumah Bayang Dollah, Lengan River in Sibu.

SIBU: The Sarawak government under Gabungan Parti Sarawsk (GPS) has allocated RM2.99 million for development at the Lengan River area from 2016 to this year.

Most of the allocation was for public infrastructure projects like roads, jetties and halls, Daro assemblyman Safiee Ahmad said, adding that this showed that the state government was committed to narrow the gap between urban and rural areas.

“Since I became the elected representative for this area, I have channelled financial allocation for public infrastructure projects for the convenience of all residents at the Lengan River.

“The effort that I am emphasising is what I had voiced in the past State Legislative Assembly sittings – to connect the two settlements here that are separated by the Lengan River, which are now only accessible by boat,” he said when speaking at Sibu District Social Community Engagement and launching of Road Upgrade Project at Rumah Bayang Dollah, Lengan River near here recently.

The programme organised by Sibu District Office was also attended by Igan Member of Parliament Ahmad Johnie Zawawi, assistant Sibu district officer Cynthia Ong representing Sibu district officer, Temenggong Stanley Geramong Bandar, Pemanca James Semilan, Penghulu Evelyn Holly Sebom and Tuai Rumah Bayang Dollah.

Safiee said that he had applied to Sibu Division Public Works Department (JKR) to prepare paper work to build a bridge across the Lengan River to connect both settlements.

He said JKR had came up with a proposal paper for the project which is projected to cost RM11 million. He said six projects costing RM1.23 million would start this month.

Safiee revealed that every year, Daro state constituency is allocated RM5 million for development projects.

“Also, the allocation for Igan parliamentary area will be for Daro and Jemoreng state constituencies,” he added.