Saturday, December 3

Bobby William heads PBDS Baru


Bobby (second right) and others witness a ‘miring’ (blessing) ceremony.

KUCHING: Bobby William is the new president of Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDS Baru) following the party’s triennial delegates conference (TDC) in Sibu Jaya yesterday.

He is taking over from Cobbold John, who passed away due to heart complications on March 8. Patrick Anek Uren was acting president after Cobbold’s death.

Andrew Puro is the new deputy president, while the vice-presidents are Adman Jubang, Dr Bego Sepop and Major (Rtd) Moses Ripai.

PBDS Baru’s new secretary-general is Julius Enchana, while Sai Malaka is the treasurer.

Rapelson Richard Hamit and Sylvia John Gemok remain as the respective Youth and Women’s chiefs.

Cobbold’s widow Puyang Laing was named as one of the 19 supreme council members. Others are Sgt (Rtd) Chely Jenggu, Deny Nico, Brauszelt Elden Usah, Synne Darlyn, Nicholas Dominic, Guro Siang, Rahman Mattu, Matthew Jeluing, Anjie Seli, Nicholas Ayu, Emellia Ambrose, Lawrence Ujoh, Budat Jaul, Micheal Bada, Undi Berangan, Bari Ubi, Cecelia Sak and Wen Anchat.

Bobby said Luyang was named into the supreme council to continue the legacy of the late Cobbold – a bold and brave Dayak leader, especially when it came to Native Customary Rights (NCR) land matters.

“We would like to thank Cobbold John’s family for their sacrifice and support to the party until what it is today,” said Bobby.

Among the resolutions passed at the TDC was to urge both federal and Sarawak governments to fix the dilapidated schools in Sarawak as soon as possible.

The party also urged the Sarawak state government to survey native land under Section 18 of the Sarawak Land Code, instead of Section 6.

It also called upon Majlis Adat Istiadat and Native Court to be upgraded, and urged the government to give the Dayaks equal opportunities in term of social development and welfare.