Monday, August 10

‘MACC Sarawak not privy to names of MPs yet to declare assets’


Razim Mohd Noor – File photo

The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) here does not know the names of the members of Parliament (MPs) from Sarawak who have yet to declare their assets.

According to MACC Sarawak director Razim Mohd Noor, all parliamentarians including those from Sarawak are required to submit their asset declaration to the Governance Integrity and Anti-Corruption Centre (GIACC) under the Prime Minister’s Department, and not to the MACC.

“The MPs did not submit their asset declarations to MACC Sarawak. We have never seen the declaration at all.

“Only the MACC headquarters have the copies. Even then, the copies were given by the GIACC,” he told reporters when met after the launch of state-level International Anti-Corruption Day 2019 at the Resident’s Office here yesterday.

Razim said he was aware of several MPs, including a few from the state’s ruling coalition Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), who had yet to declare their assets.

However, he was unsure of who they were.

“I would have to check first. I woukd have to check through websites,” he said.

Razim said Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg – also GPS chairman – had agreed and discussed with the MPs from GPS about them being required to declare their assets to Parliament.

Abang Johari had even suggested that the declaration of assets be extended to all the state assemblymen in Sarawak, said Razim.

It was reported that three MPs from GPS – two from Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) and one from Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) – have yet to declare their personal assets.

They are among 62 MPs who have not declared their personal assets to Parliament, according to a press statement issued by the Office of Parliament Speaker, Tan Sri Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof.

All the 122 MPs should have declared their personal assets within three months from July 1 this year, but subsequently, the grace period was extended up to yesterday (Dec 5).

The other MPs who have not declared their personal assets are 36 from Umno, 18 from PAS, one each from the MCA, the MIC and STAR, and two Independents.