Friday, August 14

Dennis to lead Sarawak Kayan Association for 3rd straight term


Dennis (seated centre) poses with the 2020-2022 PKS executive committee at the end of the TGA.

MIRI: Telang Usan assemblyman Dennis Ngau was elected as president of Sarawak Kayan Association (PKS) for a third consecutive term.

He was returned unopposed during the association’s 7th triennial general assembly (TGA) on Saturday which saw office bearers elected for the 2020-2022 term.

Michael Mujah, a political secretary to the chief minister, was elected as deputy president, while the newly-created post of vice-president went to Gurung Wan.

The posts of secretary-general and treasurer-general went to Harris Jau Wan and Daniel Jok Wan, respectively.

Harris will be assisted by Dorothy Ibau while Daniel, by Stephen Karim Langang.

The ordinary committee members are Laing Uvang, Frederick Uyo, Hubong Uyo, KK Luhong Tajang, Alice Livan, KK Usun Steward, Musa Wan and Gillian Long Anyie.

Meanwhile, Kayan paramount chief Temenggong Elizabeth Deng, Pemanca Umek Jeno and immediate past president Lah Jau Uyo, were proposed as the association’s panel of advisors, to be headed by Assistant Minister of Utilities Datuk Liwan Lagang.

The TGA held was attended by 110 delegates and observers from all seven PKS branches throughout the state, namely Miri, Kuching, Bintulu, Marudi, Nahah A, Long Lama and Asap.

Dennis in his acceptance speech challenged PKS to work hard to stay relevant in mainstream development while keeping alive Kayan traditional heritage and culture.

He also spoke on the importance of education and described it as the key to success in life, and something which PKS should set as its main agenda each year.

“I urge all branches to organise educational activities, in particular holding seminars or talks for Kayan students as suggested by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg,” he said.

Meanwhile, Dennis said PKS is growing from strength to strength and now has nearly 2,000 members, and that efforts are being made to set up new branches in Sibu and Limbang.