Tuesday, May 24

Sarawak’s Covid-19 red zones down to 27 districts


A medical frontliner performs a swab test. – File photo

KUCHING: Sarawak’s Covid-19 red zones have dropped to 27 districts after Julau district reverted to an orange zone today, said the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC).

It said in its Covid-19 daily update that this is after the district recorded only 40 locally transmitted cases in the past 14 days.

The other red-zone districts are Tatau, Tebedu, Betong, Pusa, Bau, Belaga, Sebauh, Sri Aman, Lundu, Pakan, Song, Bukit Mabong, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu.

The committee also said that ten districts remain as yellow zones, namely Lawas, Matu, Tanjung Manis, Simunjan, Marudi, Asajaya, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu, and Limbang whereas Telang Usan and Kabong are the only green-zone districts left in Sarawak.

The Ministry of Health categorises a district with no Covid-19 cases as a green zone while one to 20 local infection cases recorded in a district over a two-week period are classified as yellow zone. Districts with 41 and more cases will be designated as red zones while districts with 21 to 40 cases are classified as orange zones.