Friday, June 25

No more Covid-19 green zones in Sarawak after Telang Usan turns yellow


Bernama file photo for illustration purposes.

KUCHING (June 5): There are no more Covid-19 green zones left in the state after Telang Usan recorded nine cases in the last 14 days and changed to a yellow zone, said the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC).

The district joins Lawas, Daro, Tebedu, Limbang, Matu and Lundu as yellow zones, bringing the total to seven.

Kabong and Sebauh changed to red zones after over 40 cases total were recorded in the two districts in the past two weeks.

“This brings the total number of red zones to 30. The other 28 red zones are Dalat, Simunjan, Bau, Marudi, Meradong, Lubok Antu, Beluru, Asajaya, Tanjung Manis, Tatau, Julau, Bukit Mabong, Betong, Belaga, Sri Aman, Pakan, Kanowit, Selangau, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Samarahan, Serian, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri, and Sibu,”SDMC said in a statement.

The orange zones in the state are Saratok, Pusa and Song districts, which recorded a total of 111 cases.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) categorises a Covid-19 green zone district as no local cases recorded over a 14-day period; one to 20 local transmission cases as yellow; 21 to 40 as orange; and 41 and above as red zone.

Meanwhile, the police have issued 39 compounds for violations of standard operating procedures (SOPs) with 12 in Kuching, Bintulu (6), Miri (6), Sibu (6), Julau (3), Kapit (2), Serian (1), Betong (1), Mukah (1), and Lawas (1).

Visiting premises exceeding the allowed operating hours topped the list with 17, followed by carrying the exceeded amount of passengers (10), not scanning MySejahtera or opening non-essential premises (9) and one compound each for not wearing face mask, inter-district travel without approval letter and cutting quarantine bracelet without permission.

“This brings the total compounds issued since March 18 last year to 7,192,” the committee said.

The Local Government and Housing Ministry has issued 23 compounds under Serian District Council (12), Miri City Council (3), Padawan District Council (1), Bintulu Development Authority (1), Sibu Rural District Council (1), Meradong and Julau District Council (1) and Limbang District Council (1) for not updating the registration logbook, not wearing face mask, operating without permission during MCO, not scanning the MySejahtera barcode, faulty thermometer, inter-district travel without permit, and failure to ensure SOP compliance by customers.