Sunday, October 2

Covid-19: 29 red zones in Sarawak


Bernama file photo for illustration purposes shows a front-liner wearing a face shield.

KUCHING (June 28): A total of 29 Covid-19 red zones remain in Sarawak with a collective 7,738 local transmissions recorded, the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said.

In its daily update, SDMC said that Sibu clocked the most local transmissions in the past 14 days with 1,231 cases followed by Kuching (1,165).

The other red zones in the state are Bintulu with a total of 704 cases in the past 14 days, Miri (423), Kapit (404), Sri Aman (358), Sarikei (344), Tatau (320), Kanowit (299), Mukah (276), Subis (234), Telang Usan (234), Bau (213), Song (182), Pakan (153), Tebedu (138), Meradong (128), Julau (124), Serian (109), Samarahan (100), Sebauh (94), Lundu (81), Matu (70), Selangau (65), Bukit Mabong (64), Tanjung Manis (61), Saratok (58), Asajaya (53) and Simunjan (53).

As for orange zones, there are currently three with Betong recording a total of 38 local transmissions in the past two weeks, followed by Kabong (29) and Lubok Antu (21).

Seven districts are classified as yellow zones, with Pusa’s tally of local transmissions recorded in the last 14 days at 20, followed by Dalat (12), Beluru (11), Marudi (10), Lawas (7), Limbang (2) and Belaga (1).

Only one Covid-19 green zone remains in the state, which is Daro.

The Ministry of Health categorises a district with no Covid-19 cases as a green zone, and over a two-week period, with one to 20 local transmission cases as yellow, 21 to 40 as orange and 41 and more as red.