Five areas in Sabah under total lockdown


KOTA KINABALU: Five localities in Sabah will be placed under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO) from July 12 to July 25.

They are Kampung Suang Parai, Taman Kingfisher Sulaman and Bandaran Berjaya in the state capital; QL Farm in Membalua, Tawau; Kampung Pikat in Bongawan, Papar.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the three Kota Kinabalu localities recorded a sudden surge in new cases in a short span of time.

He said the government also decided to place QL Farm under total lockdown due to a high infectivity rate, with 13 out of 49 people screened testing positive for Covid-19.

Kampung Pikat saw a rise in infections within a week, he added in a statement on Saturday.

Meanwhile, the EMCO at Kampung Jawi-Jawi in Kota Belud, which was supposed to end on July 12, has been extended to July 25.

The EMCOs at Kampung Tuunon in Penampang; Kampung Tawadakan and Kampung Bungan in Kota Belud; and Kampung Perpaduan in Kudat will end on July 11.