Thursday, August 5

Two new Covid-19 clusters involving longhouses in Saratok detected


Health workers conduct Covid-19 case detection. — Bernama photo

KUCHING (July 22): The Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) declared two new clusters today, both located in Saratok.

The committee in a statement today said the clusters are named the Ulu Senulau Cluster and the Abu Bengang Cluster, both involving longhouses there which had been placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO).

Out of 57 individuals screened from the Ulu Senulau Cluster, 33 were positive for Covid-19 including the index case, while 131 out of 193 screened from the Abu Bengang Cluster were positive for Covid-19 including the index case.

Apart from that, SDMC also announced that the Jalan Bintulu-Tatau Cluster in Bintulu have ended after no new cases were detected from the cluster in the last 28 days.

Of the 94 active clusters today, 12 however have recorded a total of 288 new infections.

The clusters that reported the highest number of new Covid-19 cases today were the Abu Bengang Cluster in Saratok (126), Tembok Miri Cluster (120), Tembok Sri Aman Cluster (25), Lunyim Cluster in Telang Usan (4), Kampung Kendaie Cluster in Lundu (4) and Lempaong Cluster in Betong (3).

Clusters recording only one new case were Po Ai Cluster in Sri Aman, Pagar Tebedu Cluster, Jalan Teo Kui Ngo Cluster in Meradong, Sentosa 2 Cluster in Kuching, Jalan Selalang Cluster in Sarikei and Jalan Demak Laut Cluster in Kuching.

Meanwhile, Sarawak now has 19 districts classified as red zones, four orange zones, 13 yellow zones and four green zones.

Pakan district in Sarikei division has been classified to orange zone status from yellow after recording 23 cases of local infection in the last 14 days, said SDMC.

The Health Ministry categorises a district with no Covid-19 cases as a green zone, and over a two-week period, with one to 20 local transmission cases as yellow, 21 to 40 as orange and 41 and more as red.