Tuesday, November 28

Reshuffled Sabah Cabinet meets for first time


Hajiji (seated centre) with the Cabinet members at the meeting on Wednesday.

KOTA KINABALU (Jan 18): Chief Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Hajiji Haji Noor chaired the first State Cabinet meeting at Menara Kinabalu here on Wednesday following a reshuffle which saw the appointment of three new ministers and exchanges of portfolios between several ministers.

The new ministers – Datuk James Ratib (Community Development and People’s Well-being), Datuk Christina Liew (Tourism, Culture and Environment) and Phoong Jin Zhe (Industrial Development) – were sworn in on Jan 11.

Datuk Ir Shahelmey Yahya attended the meeting for the first time as Deputy Chief Minister III holding the portfolio of Works Minister.

The Chief Minister also welcomed back Rural Development Minister Datuk Jahid Jahim who has been on medical leave since last year.

Other ministers in attendance were Deputy Chief Minister I – Datuk Seri Panglima Dr Jeffrey Kitingan (Agriculture and Fisheries), Deputy Chief Minister II Datuk Seri Panglima Dr Joachim Gunsalam (Local Government and Housing) – Finance Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Masidi Manjun, Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Mohd Arifin Arif and Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Ellron Angin.

Also present was State Secretary Datuk Seri Panglima Sr Safar Untong.