Saturday, July 24

Covid-19: Telang Usan is now red zone after recording 43 cases in 14 days


Telang Usan now among 29 red zone districts in Sarawak.

KUCHING (June 11): The Covid-19 orange zones in the state is now down to three districts as Telang Usan is now classified as red zone, said State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC).

In a statement today, SDMC said Telang Usan District changed to a red zone from orange after recording 43 cases in the last 14 days.

This has brought the total red zones in the state to 29 districts.

Aside from Telang Usan, other red zones districts in Sarawak are Song, Sebauh, Kabong, Dalat, Bau, Marudi, Meradong, Lubok Antu, Beluru, Asajaya, Tanjung Manis, Tatau, Bukit Mabong, Betong, Sri Aman, Pakan, Kanowit, Selangau, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Samarahan, Serian, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu, the committee said.

Meanwhile, Lundu District was classified as orange zone from yellow after recording 30 local infections within the last two weeks.

Joining Lundu as orange zone districs are Simunjan and Matu districts.

There are eight districts classified as Covid-19 yellow zones, namely Pusa, Julau, Saratok, Belaga, Lawas, Daro, Tebedu and Limbang.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) categorises a district as green zone if there are no Covid-19 cases recorded over a 14-day period, one to 20 local transmission cases as yellow, 21 to 40 as orange, and 41 and above as red zone.

Meanwhile, the police has issued 42 compounds for violation of standard operating procedures (SOPs), with 17 in Bintulu, Kuching (12), Miri (5), Sibu (4), Lawas (2) and one each for Lundu and Serian.

The top violation was not wearing face masks (11), followed by carrying passengers more than what was set (9), visiting premises exceeding the allowed operating hours (8), opening premises not allowed during MCO (6), gathering more than people at public places (4), being at a public place at more than 10km radius (2), and one each for those exiting EMCO area and inter district travel without permit.

“This brings the total compounds issued since March 18 last year to 7,581,” the committee said.

The Local Government and Housing Ministry has issued 25 compounds under Bintulu Development Authority (BDA) (4), Padawan Municipal Council (MPP) (4), Bau District Council (3), Sibu Rural District Council (2), Sri Aman District Council (2), Serian District Council (2), Meradong and Julau District Council (2), Miri City Council (2), Kapit District Council (2), Sarikei District Council (1), and Subis District Council (1).

The compounds were issued for not updating the registration logbook (13), not wearing face mask (4), not registering with MySejahtera (3), no control in number of customers (1), dining in (1), team sports (1), operating beyond stipulated time (1), and operating without permission (1).

This brings total compounds issued by local authorities since Feb 1 to today to 992 compounds.